PoliticsWhat's Hot!

Ayodele Fayose: Jimoh Ibrahim will never govern Ondo

Governor of Ekiti State, Mr Ayodele Fayose, Tuesday said the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) ‘imposed’ candidate; Mr Jimoh Ibrahim cannot win the forthcoming governorship election in Ondo State. Fayose, who was speaking a live ‘Orange FM’ radio programme in Akure, the Ondo State capital, said the mission of Ibrahim in obtaining the ticket of the PDP was not to contest the election to win but to block the chances of Mr Eyitayo Jegede (SAN) who was the candidate of the party.

Fayose said for Ibrahim to have allowed himself to be used as a clog in the wheel of progress of the real PDP’s candidate, “Ibrahim can never be governor in Ondo State. He will not win. He has allowed himself to be an agent of destruction. Whoever does that will meet his own destruction in the future.”

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

Also, he said INEC under the present All Progressives Congress (APC)-led federal government has demonstrated to Nigerians that their votes will never be allowed to count any longer, adding that: “INEC has become an extension of the APC and Aso Rock Presidential Villa.”

Fayose, who lamented that “democracy in Nigeria has suffered a serious setback”, however said: “If the cabal in the APC-led Federal Government believed that they have defeated the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) through their manipulation of the electoral process, they should be reminded that they can never defeat the people.”

His words: “How can someone hold a primary election in Ibadan, Oyo State without INEC’s involvement to become candidate of the PDP in an election holding in Ondo State while INEC will drop the candidate who emerged through a primary election monitored by the commission in Akure?

“This is not democracy; INEC said they did not recognise Jimoh Ibrahim’s election, now you say he is the candidate. What is it that has changed?

“Isn’t this development a vindication of my position that other political parties and stakeholders are now contesting election against INEC?”

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

Leave a Response